Esoteric Buddhist statue, tantric Yidam Yamantaka in yab yum with its parèdre Vétali Bronze purple. Buddha. Tibetan Buddhism

Esoteric Buddhist statue, tantric Yidam Yamantaka in yab yum with its parèdre Vétali Bronze purple. Buddha. Tibetan Buddhism


Shipping to United States: Free

Esoteric Buddhist statue, tantric Yidam Yamantaka in yab yum with its parèdre Vétali
Purple bronze,
The bronze used is called purple bronze. It is a high-quality bronze, holding its characteristic color to a high copper content.
Tibetan statuette made by specialized Tibetan craftsmen.

Dimensions: 32 cm high, 24cm wide by 13cm deep.
Weight of 6,300kg

The bottom unscrews to put offerings and prayers inside during the blessing like all traditional Buddhist statuettes.

To see our entire collection of Buddhist statuettes, please click on this link§ion_id=22229988

To see our entire shop, please click on this link

Yamāntaka is the "death-destroying" deity of Vajrayana Buddhism. He is sometimes conceptualized as "conqueror of the lord of death".
Yamāntaka is a Sanskrit name that can be broken down into two main elements: Yama, the god of death; and destructive antaka. Thus, Yamāntaka means "destroyer of death" or "conqueror of death."
Cultural heritage of Kalanta, an aspect of the Hindu god Shiva who saves his disciple from the clutches of death Yama and is seen as the deity that was the origin of the Mahamrityunjaya Mantra of Buddhism and Hinduism.

His depiction reflects Yama in many ways: riding a buffalo very frequently and often depicted with a bovine head.

Because of this resemblance to Yama as well as the similarity in name, one very frequently finds texts (which would seem to be reliable sources) confusing both Yamāntaka and Yama as being the same deity when they are not.

In Buddhism, "ending death" is a quality of all Buddhas because they have stopped the cycle of rebirth, samsara. Thus Yamāntaka represents the purpose of the Mahayana practitioner's journey to enlightenment, or the journey itself: at the final awakening, Yamāntaka is manifested – the end of death.

Yamāntaka is an angry expression of Mañjuśrī, the Samyaksambuddha of wisdom that, in other contexts, also functions as a dharmapala or a Herouka.

The statuette depicts Yamāntaka in its yab yum form with its vetali parèdre
In this form, Yamantaka is about to defeat Yama, the god of death. Yamantaka fits into the death narrative because his defeat of Yama signals Samsara (cycle of rebirth). Buddhism believes that stopping this cycle of rebirth is the quality of Buddhas and Yamantaka represents the ultimate goal of attaining enlightenment by ending death.

Yamantaka with an angry face, to discourage you from resuming a cycle of bad habits. It has 7 heads side by side and two more heads above the main one. Its main head has a crown of five skulls that represents the five negative afflictions (greed, illusion, hatred, jealousy, pride) and its transmutation into positive wisdom. The flame on the skulls and the fiery details above his eyes (as well as the drawings of fire in his aura) symbolize Yamantaka's power to transmute the five afflictions through the flame. On the highest head is Manjushri, the Buddha of Wisdom.

The yab-yum (literally father-mother) position emphasizes the union of male compassion and feminine wisdom. On his chest is Veltali holding a skullcap with blood that represents Great Bliss and wisdom. He has twenty hands each holding a weapon or object. The first right hand holds the skin of an elephant as a sign of victory over narrow-mindedness. The remaining right hands also hold objects with their meaning such as the axe (cutting through duality and ignorance), dart (to pierce the design of objects), pestle (destroying mindfulness backwards), harpoon (to destroy one's flaws of oneself), arrow (to pierce through the preconceived idea), skull-club (protecting against karma) and Khatanga blade (to adapt to the nature of great practice), to name a few. Meanwhile, some objects on his left hand include a skull cap with blood, Brahma's head (great compassion), the shield (victory against Maras), a leg (symbol of the march towards enlightenment), lasso (endless wisdom), bell (sound of wisdom), hand (symbol to perform four activities), flags (empty of the three doors as being a single entity).

Its 16 legs are also represented, those under the set of feet on its right side represent the Siddhis (powers acquired through meditation) and include humans, buffalo, ox, donkey, dog, sheep and fox. Meanwhile, the feet on the left side are the eight powers vulture, owl, raven, parrot, falcon, kite, mainate and swan. At the bottom of the thangka are offerings to the three skulls. The left and right skulls are smaller and represent sperm and fertile blood, elements necessary for rebirth. The center's offerings represent the five senses such as touch, sight, taste, smell, and hearing.

Shipping from France

Processing time

1-2 weeks

Customs and import taxes

Buyers are responsible for any customs and import taxes that may apply. I'm not responsible for delays due to customs.

Payment Options

Secure options
  • Accepts Etsy gift cards

Returns & Exchanges

I gladly accept returns

Just contact me within: 3 days of delivery

Ship items back to me within: 7 days of delivery

I don't accept exchanges or cancellations

But please contact me if you have any problems with your order.

The following items can't be returned or exchanged

Because of the nature of these items, unless they arrive damaged or defective, I can't accept returns for:

  • Custom or personalized orders
  • Perishable products (like food or flowers)
  • Digital downloads
  • Intimate items (for health/hygiene reasons)
  • Items on sale

Conditions of return

Buyers are responsible for return shipping costs. If the item is not returned in its original condition, the buyer is responsible for any loss in value.

Legal imprint